Please Allow Us To Grow

Part I
He has, already, it wasn’t easy but he did. He has confessed and renounced all the shameful deeds in his past, but still, you won’t let it be.
Because you won’t allow it, because you still doubt, he has to, again, and again and again. He shouldn’t, but your constant reminder is so disturbing he’s forced to, again.
He’s only asking you to let him grow! Even if the pace is slow, let him grow!! Church folk please let him grow!!! He’s getting there, so let him flow.
You saw him drunk out of his mind, as far back as Arsenal last won the EPL; but years after, you still call him a drunk though he doesn’t drink again.
Let us know you blessed excellent holy brothers and sisters; for how long are you going to vilify him, will you ever allow this to be a thing of the past?
True he was a gang leader; a thief, an addict, and a womanizer back in the day, but by God’s grace and the cleansing power of the blood he is a new being.
One more time, he prays, that you remove that old tag, that you stop reminding him of his past, that you call him by who he is now, and not who he was then.
The old life died with Christ on the cross, his sinful self has no power over him; he’s not a slave to sin; for anyone who has died is made free from sin’s control.
The Testament says, “In Him I have redemption through His blood, the forgiveness of sins, according to the riches of His grace,” not according to your pity!
Let’s pretend because you serve in church, your name is a household name at church, and the pastor knows your middle name you’re the standard
But does it mean anything to you at all that if he confesses his sins, God is faithful and righteous to forgive his sins and to cleanse him from all unrighteousness?
Do you even care that there is therefore no condemnation against him now that he is in Christ Jesus, that God loves him as much as He loves you?
Please drop that tag, he is not a drunk, not a thief, not a flirt, not a smoker or a gang leader; he is a child of God redeemed with the precious blood of Jesus.

Part II
I, even I, yes I, I beg of you to let me be; for He threw my guilt, shame and dirt into the sea, so why do your judgmental look and words make want to pee?
Christian brothers and sisters, I pray you stop calling me names; that you leave room for me to improve; local church heroes please permit me to change.
Ain’t you all better people than you were a decade ago; and don’t you owe it all to God who works in you both to will and to do for His good pleasure.
God has promised to seek the lost, bring back the strayed, bind up the injured, and strengthen the weak… So why won’t you permit me to change?
You saw me about 6 years ago at the back seat of my car making out with a chorister, yeah, that dark tall beautiful alto singer you had a crush on.
You’ve ever since held it against me; by God’s grace I’m changed, married with a kid, though you’re still single you call me a pervert and a hypocrite.
What do you really gain from shaming me, when God has already forgiven me? Even if I were the worse sinner you’ve ever seen, isn’t it better that I’m changed?
Since you heard I’ve broken 5 innocent ladies’ hearts, you’ve made it your God-given task to tell the whole world how heartless and irresponsible I am.
True, I battled very hard with lust, got bruised, hurt faithful souls, (I’m sorry), but God granted me victory in Christ, lust no longer has dominion over me.
Why do you keep judging the servant of another? To his own master he stands or falls; and he will stand, for the Lord is able to make him stand.
Do you believe this Scripture, “For God did not send the Son into the world to judge the world, but that the world might be saved through Him”?
I am not praying your endorsement or your affirmation; I only pray that you stop fighting and condemning me because God who is rich in mercy has changed me.
I know you’ve read that “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new.”
The Advocate with the Father, Jesus Christ the righteous is the propitiation for our sins, and not for yours only but also for the whole world.

Part III
Please mum and dad, allow her to be a better person than she was; don’t give up on her yet, please don’t discourage her also, for God has a plan for her.
Would you ever let it go? Would she forever be paying for who she was, knowing very well she can do very little about her yesterday?
She doesn’t complain when you allow her sisters to receive male visitors in their rooms with the door closed, whilst she sits hers at the porch.
She doesn’t whine when you calmly ask her siblings for excuses when they miss Sunday service but harshly attack her when she misses a midweek service.
She only wishes you would for once, for the love of God, cease reminding her that her big sis is still a virgin and she’s not?
At least, acknowledge that though she is not where you wish for her to be, she’s not where she used to be; they’re all working together for her good.
Don’t you have confidence in this very truth, that He who began a good work in you will perfect it until the day of Christ Jesus?
The Bible has taught her to believe that because of His love God chose her in Christ to be holy and blameless, that she are holy and without fault in the eyes of God.
So why don’t you drop the tags, and believe that God is not through with her yet, that there is hope for everybody, even her.
Mum and Dad, shouldn’t you be the last people in the world to add your voice to the accuser of the brethren and make her feel guilty for her dirty past?
But you press her so much her heavy heart takes solace in the hymn: “I need no other argument, I need no other plea, it is enough that Jesus died, and that he died for me”
Please Mum and Dad, tell her who she is in Christ, tell her who she can become in His love.

Part IV
I sinned against God and man; defamed the church of the Living God, shamed the name of the Most High. I have a past I not so proud of. [Let’s assume you do not]
I had a rough start, I slipped alone the line, I abused the grace and call of God upon my life, and I kept a double life until I was exposed. [Let’s assume I’m the only one]
But if He has chosen to forgive me, why do you fight God’s grace, mercy and love shown me? Why do you sack the sick from God’s hospital?
I’m back here again, with or without your permission because, God says: “Therefore if the Son sets you free, you shall be free indeed.”
“For He made Him who knew no sin to be sin for us, that we might become the righteousness of God in Him?”
“Do not remember the former things, nor consider the things of old. Behold, I will do a new thing, now it shall spring forth; shall you not know it? I will even make a road in the wilderness and rivers in the desert.
Have I gotten you confused? Yeah, I’m quoting scripture, and they apply to me also. Do I sound presumptuous? No, I’m remorseful and I’m only begging to speak.
So let me speak, let me speak, let me speak! I pray your godly love towards me not your judgment, condemnation and rejection
So you saw me doing what, when, last year, month, week or yesterday? I’ve confirmed your suspicions so you’ve declared me persona non grata?
No, you’re not the reason I live. I’m not going to give up the good fight of faith ‘till my raptured soul shall find rest beyond the river.’
I rely on the steadfast love of the Lord that never ceases; His mercies that never come to an end; for they are new every morning; great is His faithfulness.
If I don’t stand guilty before Him, I shouldn’t also stand guilty before anyone; so for the last time, please let me be, let me change, let him grow, let her flow…

Leave a Reply

